Dec 09, 2022  
2017-2018 Catalog 
2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Educational Programs

Educational Programs

As one of the nation’s oldest schools of its kind, the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) is unique among the state’s medical schools. The college is recognized as a leader in preparing the next generation of physicians to provide comprehensive primary care. In addition to training and research opportunities in all medical specialties leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree, the college offers elective tracks in rural medicine and dual degree programs allowing graduates to earn a Master of Science (MS), Master of Public Health (MPH), and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) during their medical training.

TCOM holds continuing accreditation by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA).  Graduates of COCA accredited colleges are eligible for admission to all postdoctoral training programs (residencies) in the United States and full practice privileges in all states.

With over 4,000 alumni, the college is helping reduce the shortage of physicians in Texas communities, practicing over 50 specialties in nearly every county.

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS) offers students opportunities to earn advanced degrees in biomedical sciences in an innovative educational and research environment that supports the development of knowledge-based, skill-based, and professionalism-based competencies in the biomedical sciences. GSBS offers both MS- and PhD-level programs including the Medical Sciences program. The latter helps prepare graduates for entry to professional programs such as medical and dental school. GSBS graduates fill a wide range of positions to include those at health science centers, colleges and universities, community health centers, federal agencies and in industry.

The School of Public Health (SPH) was founded in 1999 as a result of local efforts by community leaders and public health officials. It has grown rapidly in student enrollment and research funding since its initial accreditation with the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) in June 2002, while maintaining strong and vital links with public health professionals in the community. In 2016, SPH was re-accredited by CEPH. SPH offers the MPH, MHA, and PhD degrees as well as several graduate certificates.

The School of Health Professions (SHP) is the home of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies, offering the Master of Physician Assistant Studies degree (MPAS), as well as the Department of Physical Therapy, offering the Doctor of Physical Therapy degree (DPT).  In addition, the School offers a certificate in Lifestyle Health, which prepares practitioners to use lifestyle interventions in chronic disease management.

The UNT System College of Pharmacy (SCP) was authorized by the Texas Legislature and approved by the UNT Board of Regents in 2011. The new college admitted its first class of students in August of 2013.  The four-year educational program leads to the doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree and consists of three years of didactic coursework and introductory pharmacy practice experiences along with one year of advanced pharmacy practice experiences achieved by a series of clinical rotations. SCP is the only college of pharmacy based in North Texas and the only one in the state to be located on a health science center campus. The program will prepare graduates not only for the traditional role of safe distribution of pharmaceuticals but also maintenance of health and management of therapy.

Dual Degrees: The five schools of UNTHSC offer numerous opportunities for a student to obtain multidisciplinary training leading to dual degrees. These unique degree programs provide the students with valuable training that further prepares them to be leaders in the inter-professional delivery of healthcare in the 21st century.

The original dual degree program at UNTHSC began as a partnership between the TCOM and GSBS in which the DO/PhD dual degrees were offered. DO/MPH and DO/MS dual degrees have been conferred to numerous students over the past 12 years, and UNTHSC was the first and only institution to confer the MPAS/PhD dual degree. These programs are now expanding to include dual degrees between DPT and PharmD with the PhD (in Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences). In addition, dual degree opportunities combining the MPH and MHA degree with any of the primary health professions degrees are being developed.

Professional and Continuing Education: The Office of Professional and Continuing Education (PACE) exists to connect the colleges, providers and administrators to outcomes‐driven continuing educational solutions. PACE is the academic home for all UNTHSC graduates. It consistently discovers new ways to engage and enlighten practicing providers, researchers and leaders in continuing education activities, community programs and internal collaborations that focus on improving quality across organizations through meaningful, measurable impact. 

PACE plans discipline-specific and interprofessional conferences, quality improvement initiatives, online programs and other types of continuing education for UNTHSC providers and non-affiliated healthcare professionals in Tarrant County and beyond. Its online learning management system provides a convenient way for students to access learning, retrieve participation records and stay connected to their academic home as they enter their professions.