Oct 01, 2023  
2015-2016 Catalog 
2015-2016 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Educational Programs

As the sole source of an osteopathic medical education in Texas, the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) is unique among the state’s nine medical schools. TCOM is a state and national leader in training physicians skilled in comprehensive primary care. TCOM ranks among the top medical schools in the country for primary care for the 14th consecutive year, according to U.S. News & World Report.

The magazine listed TCOM among the nation’s top 15 in the specialties of rural medicine and geriatrics.

In 2011, the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) confirmed TCOM’s continuing accreditation for the maximum term of seven years.

With over 2,800 alumni to date, approximately 65% practice primary care medicine (family practice, general internal medicine, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology), helping reduce the shortage of physicians in Texas communities. In addition to primary care, alumni also practice in over 50 specialties such as aerospace medicine and vascular medicine. Recent alumni have excelled in some of the nation’s most demanding residency training programs by earning the position of chief resident.

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS) offers students opportunities to earn advanced degrees in biomedical sciences in an innovative educational environment that encourages rigorous health science research, exemplary teaching skills and service to the community. GSBS offers both MS- and PhD-level studies including the Medical Sciences program, which helps prepare graduates for entry to medical school. GSBS graduates fill positions in health science centers, colleges and universities, community health centers, federal agencies and industry.

The School of Public Health (SPH) was founded in 1999 as a result of local efforts by community leaders and public health officials. It has grown rapidly in student enrollment and research funding since its initial accreditation with the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) in June 2002, while maintaining strong and vital links with public health professionals in the community. In 2007, SPH was re-accredited for the maximum term of seven years. In addition to the MPH, DrPH and MHA, SPH now offers the PhD in Public Health Sciences.

The School of Health Professions (SHP) is the home of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies, offering the Master of Physician Assistant Studies degree (MPAS), as well as the Department of Physical Therapy, offering the Doctor of Physical Therapy degree (DPT).

The UNT System College of Pharmacy (SCP) was authorized by the Texas Legislature and approved by the UNT Board of Regents in 2011. The new college admitted its first class of students in August of 2013. Applicants must complete 70 semester hours of pre-pharmacy coursework to be eligible for admission to the college. The four-year educational program leads to the doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) degree and consists of three years of didactic coursework and introductory pharmacy practice experiences and one year of advanced pharmacy practice experiences achieved by a series of clinical rotations. The college is the only college of pharmacy in North Texas and the only one in the state to be located on a health science center campus. The program will prepare graduates not only for the traditional role of safe distribution of pharmaceuticals, but also maintenance of health and management of therapy.

Dual Degrees: The five schools of the UNT Health Science Center (UNTHSC) offer numerous opportunities for a student to obtain multidisciplinary training leading to dual degrees. These unique degree programs provide the students with valuable training that further prepares them to be leaders in the inter-professional delivery of healthcare in the 21st century.

The original dual degree program at UNTHSC began as a partnership between the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in which the DO/PhD dual degrees were offered. DO/MPH and DO/MS dual degrees have been conferred to numerous students over the past 12 years, and UNTHSC was the first and only institution to confer the MPAS/PhD dual degree. These programs are now expanding to include dual degrees between MPAS, DPT, and PharmD with the PhD (in Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences) and the MPH (in the School of Public Health). In addition, a dual degree opportunity combining the MHA degree with any of the primary health professions degrees is being developed.