The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of North Texas Health Science Center
  Dec 15, 2017
2017-2018 Catalog

Accreditation Summary

Accreditation Summary

The UNT Health Science Center (UNTHSC) at Fort Worth is approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and is a member of the Alliance for Higher Education, the Association of Academic Health Centers, the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education and the Council of Graduate Schools.

UNTHSC is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award masters and doctorate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of the UNTHSC.

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) is accredited from the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation, which is the recognized accrediting agency for the approval of colleges preparing osteopathic physicians. TCOM is also approved by the Texas Medical Board and is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine.

The Department of Physician Assistant (PA) Studies is accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant Inc. (ARC-PA). Program graduates are eligible to sit for national certifying examinations. The Physical Therapy (PT) Program at UNTHSC is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).

The School of Public Health (SPH) is accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH). Within SPH, the Master of Health Administration Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME).

The UNT System College of Pharmacy (SCP) is reviewed by the American Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), its accrediting body. There are three steps in the accreditation process for a new college, such as the SCP: Pre-Candidate Status, Candidate Status, and Full Accreditation. Pre-Candidate Status is awarded to new colleges that have not yet enrolled students, but who have sufficient faculty and facilities to support a curriculum that meets the ACPE's Accreditation Standards and Guidelines for the Professional Program in Pharmacy Education Leading to the Doctor of Pharmacy Degree. SCP was awarded Candidate Status by the ACPE Board of Directors in June 2014.  Graduates of a college designated as having Candidate Status have the same rights and privileges as graduates of an accredited program. SCP will be eligible for consideration of Full Accreditation by the ACPE in June 2017, after it graduates its first class in May of that year.

For further information regarding the institution's accreditation and state approval or to review related documents, contact the Provost's Office, Carl E. Everett Education and Administration Building, Room 854, 817-735-0268.